President Tinubu Awards CGC Adeniyi for Excellence in Revenue Collection


The Comptroller-General of Customs (CGC), Adewale Adeniyi, was on Saturday, 6 July 2024, honoured with the “Outstanding Revenue Collection” accolade at the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service (NEAPS) by His Excellency President Ahmed Bola Tinubu GCFR.

The award was bestowed on CGC Adeniyi during a ceremony at the Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, recognising his significant achievements in revenue generation since his appointment as Comptroller-General of Customs in June 2023.

The Vice President, Senator Kashim Shettima, representing President Tinubu, emphasised that the awards were about embedding a culture of recognition and reward in the public service ethos. He conveyed the president’s message that public institutions are not personal enterprises and that public servants are employees of the Nigerian people.

In an interview after receiving the award, CGC Adeniyi was delighted and affirmed his commitment to advancing Nigeria’s economy through revenue collection and trade facilitation. He thanked the president, the SGF, and NEAPS for the recognition, stating, “This national recognition is a challenge for the Service to double its efforts in making this country proud. It motivates public officials to dedicate themselves and perform diligently in office.”

Earlier, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator George Akume, urged the award recipients to continue their exemplary work. He emphasised that the selected individuals and organisations were chosen based on objective criteria from both the public and private sectors.

Sen. Akume welcomed attendees to the second edition of NEAPS, mentioning that the first edition was held in October 2024 at the exact location. He praised The Best Strategic (TBS) Media for organising the event in collaboration with the OSGF. He highlighted NEAPS as an award recognising innovation, leadership, and significant contributions to public service and the nation’s development.

Among the 44 recipients of the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service were Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House of Representatives Tajudeen Abbas, Chief of Staff to the President Femi Gbajabiamila, and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President (Office of the Vice President) Senator Ibrahim Hadejia. Governor Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State, Seyi Makinde, the Governor of Oyo State, Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa State, Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State, Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, and Governor Peter Ndubuisi Mbah of Enugu State were recognised for their sector-specific interventions.

Other honorees included FCT Minister Nyesom Wike, CBN Governor Olayemi Cardoso, President of Dangote Group Alhaji Aliko Dangote, former SGF Boss Mustapha, and Founder/Chairman of Zenith Bank Chief Jim Ovia.

NEAPS is an annual recognition program organised in collaboration with the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), celebrating individuals who have made exceptional contributions to public service within the preceding year.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Dental Implant