Russia/Ukraine: More Countries Ban Russian Airlines From Their Airspace


Following the invasion of Russian troops in Ukraine, several countries have banned Russian airlines from their airspace – the latest to announce such a move is the Baltic nation of Estonia, which borders Russia.

Fellow Baltic states Lithuania and Latvia are also preparing to take the step simultaneously, a statement by Lithuanian Transport Minister Marius Skuodis said.

Poland, Bulgaria and the Czech Republic have also imposed bans.

On Thursday, the UK banned Russia’s national airline Aeroflot from landing in Britain.

Writing on Twitter, Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas called on all other EU countries to follow suit.

“There is no place for planes of the aggressor state in democratic skies,
” she said.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept